Liquor License Application Kits

Easy Reference - Licensing Options

17 different series of liquor licenses

Privileges By License Type - Quick Reference.

Multiple Licenses Allowed at a Single Location.

License Processing Timeframes

Fee Chart - Quick Reference

Required Training For Licensees

FINGERPRINTS

Applicants have three options to complete fingerprint card requirements;

  1. Department of Liquor fingerprint services are available in the licensing offices for $35
  2. through local law enforcement agency for $22+ (prices vary), or
  3. through a bona fide fingerprinting service on FBI-approved fingerprint cards(prices vary).

License Application Kits

In-State Producer Application Kit - Series 1

This non-transferable liquor license allows an in-state producer to produce or manufacture all types of spirituous liquor and sell the product to a licensed wholesaler. A person who holds an In-State Producer license may also sell liquor produced or manufactured on the licensed premises for on-site consumption if the producer also holds an on-sale retail license (See series 06, 07 or 12 below). The retail license premises must be located on, or adjacent to, the licensed premises of the in-state producer. Internet sale of liquor is not permitted in the state of Arizona. Liquor must be delivered to an Arizona liquor-licensed wholesaler, then an Arizona liquor-licensed retailer prior to delivery to the consumer.

Out-Of-State Producer Application Kit - Series 2

This non-transferable liquor license allows an out-of-state producer, exporter, importer or rectifier to ship beer, wine and distilled spirits to Arizona liquor-licensed wholesalers. An out-of-state producer or supplier may not sell its products to an Arizona wholesaler at a cost higher than the lowest price at which the item was sold by the producer or supplier to any other wholesaler. An out-of-state producer, exporter, importer or rectifier must comply with the provisions of Title 4 as if an in-state producer.

Except for as permitted in A.R.S. §4-205.04(C)(9) through (G), Internet sale of liquor is not permitted in the state of Arizona. Liquor must be delivered to an Arizona liquor-licensed wholesaler, then an Arizona liquor-licensed retailer prior to delivery to the consumer.

Limited Out-of-state Winery Application Kit (Series 2L)

This non-transferrable liquor license allows an out-of-state winery to sell/deliver not more than fifty (50) cases of wine produced on the premises to Arizona liquor-licensed wholesalers. A.R.S. §4-205.04 and A.R.S. §4-209(B)(15)

Except for as permitted in A.R.S. §4-205.04(C)(9) through (G), Internet sale of liquor is not permitted in the state of Arizona. Liquor must be delivered to an Arizona liquor-licensed wholesaler, then an Arizona liquor-licensed retailer prior to delivery to the consumer.

Out-of-state Domestic Farm Winery Application Kit (Series 2W)

The Out-of-State Domestic Farm Winery license has specific privileges based on these production limits:

  • 200 to 40,000 gallons of wine per calendar year, or
  • not more than 20,000 gallons of wine per calendar year.

Except for as permitted in A.R.S. §4-205.04(C)(9) through (G), Internet sale of liquor is not permitted in the state of Arizona. Liquor must be delivered to an Arizona liquor-licensed wholesaler, then an Arizona liquor-licensed retailer prior to delivery to the consumer.

Out-of-state Domestic Microbrewery Application Kit (Series 2M)

This non-transferable liquor license allows an out-of-state domestic microbrewery that produces between 5,000 and 1,240,000 gallons per calendar year and to sell and ship the beer into the state to Arizona-licensed wholesalers. An out-of-state Domestic Microbrewery must comply with the provisions of Title 4 as if an in-state licensee.

Beer must be delivered to an Arizona liquor-licensed wholesaler, then an Arizona liquor-licensed retailer prior to delivery to the consumer.

In-state Domestic Microbrewery Application Kit - Series 3

This non-transferable liquor license allows for on & off-sale retail privileges for a licensed in-state microbrewery which produces more than five thousand (5,000) gallons, and less than one million two hundred forty thousand (1,240,000) gallons, of beer during the 12-month reporting period. With this license, the in-state microbrewery may sell beer produced or manufactured on the premises for consumption on or off the premises (no other spirituous liquors), may make sales and deliveries of beer to persons licensed to sell beer, may serve beer produced or manufactured on the premises for the purpose of sampling.Internet sale of liquor is not permitted in the state of Arizona. Liquor must be delivered to an Arizona liquor-licensed wholesaler, then an Arizona liquor-licensed retailer prior to delivery to the consumer.

Wholesaler Application Kit - Series 4

This non-transferable liquor license allows a wholesaler to warehouse, sell and distribute all types of spirituous liquor (beer, wine, distilled spirits) to Arizona-licensed retailers.

Government Application Kit - Series 5

This non-transferable, on-sale retail privileges license allows the holder of a government license to sell and serve all types of spirituous liquor solely for consumption on the premises for which the license is issued. The license is issued in the name of a county, city, town, state university or the Arizona Coliseum and exposition centerboard whose governing body has authorized its use. A separate license is required for each premise upon which spirituous liquor is served. The application must designate, for each location, a manager or other individual responsible for administering the license.

Bar Application Kit - Series 6

The bar (series 6) liquor license is a "quota" license available only through the Liquor License Lottery or for purchase on the open market. Once issued, this liquor license is transferable from person to person and/or location to location within the same county and allows the holder both on- & off-sale retail privileges. This license allows a bar retailer to sell and serve all types of spirituous liquors, primarily by individual portions, to be consumed on the premises and in the original container for consumption on or off the premises. A retailer with off-sale ("To Go") privileges may deliver spirituous liquor off of the licensed premises in connection with a retail sale. A.R.S. 4-206.01.F. states that after January 1, 2011, the off-sale privileges associated with a bar license shall be limited to no more than 30% of the total annual sales receipts of liquor by the licensee at that location. Payment must be made no later than the time of delivery. Off-sale ("To Go") package sales of spirituous liquor can be made on the bar premises as long as the area of off-sale operation does not utilize a separate entrance and exit from the ones provided for the bar. A hotel or motel with a Series 06 license may sell spirituous liquor in sealed containers in individual portions to its registered guests at any time by means of a minibar located in the guest rooms of registered guests. The registered guest must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age. Access to the minibar is by a key or magnetic card device and not furnished to a guest between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. Internet sale of liquor is not permitted in the state of Arizona. Liquor must be delivered to an Arizona liquor-licensed wholesaler, then an Arizona liquor-licensed retailer prior to delivery to the consumer.

Beer and Wine Bar Application Kit - Series 7

The beer and wine bar (series 7) liquor license is a "quota" license available only through the Liquor License Lottery or for purchase on the open market. Once issued, this liquor license is transferable from person to person and/or location to location within the same county and allows the holder both on- & off-sale retail privileges. This license allows a beer and wine bar retailer to sell and serve beer and wine (no other spirituous liquors), primarily by individual portions, to be consumed on the premises and in the original container for consumption on or off the premises. A retailer with off-sale ("To Go") privileges may deliver spirituous liquor off of the licensed premises in connection with a retail sale. A.R.S. 4-206.01.F. states that after January 1, 2011, the off-sale privileges associated with a bar license shall be limited to no more than 30% of the total annual sales receipts of liquor by the licensee at that location. Off-sale ("To Go") package sales can be made on the bar premises as long as the area of off-sale operation does not utilize a separate entrance and exit from the one provided for the bar. Payment must be made no later than the time of delivery. Internet sale of liquor is not permitted in the state of Arizona. Liquor must be delivered to an Arizona liquor-licensed wholesaler, then an Arizona liquor-licensed retailer prior to delivery to the consumer.

Conveyance Application Kit - Series 8

This non-transferable,on-sale retail privileges liquor license allows the owner or lessee of an operating airline, railroad or boat to sell all spirituous liquors in individual portions or in original containers for consumption only on the plane, train or boat.

    Boats:
  1. Applicant must designate a dock as the homeport for the boat.
  2. Notice of the application must be prominently placed on the dock that is the homeport.
  3. The boat must have a displacement of not less than fifty (50) tons and a passenger capacity of eighty (80) persons or more.
  4. The boat must have a current Coast Guard certification.
  5. No spirituous liquor sales may be made on a boat in dock earlier than fifteen (15) minutes prior to departure and shall not be served after a boat returns to the dock.
Liquor Store Application Kit - Series 9

The liquor store (series 9) license is a "quota" license available only through the Liquor License Lottery or for purchase on the open market. Once issued, this liquor license is transferable from person to person and/or location to location within the same county and allows a spirituous liquor store retailer to sell all types of spirituous liquors, only in the original unbroken package, to be taken away from the premises of the retailer and consumed off the premises. A retailer with off-sale privileges may deliver spirituous liquor off of the licensed premises in connection with a retail sale. Payment must be made no later than the time of delivery. Series 9 (liquor store) licensees and applicants may apply for unlimited sampling privileges by completing the Sampling Privileges form. Internet sale of liquor is not permitted in the state of Arizona. Liquor must be delivered to an Arizona liquor-licensed wholesaler, then an Arizona liquor-licensed retailer prior to delivery to the consumer.

Beer and Wine Store Application Kit - Series 10

This non-transferable, off-sale retail privileges liquor license allows a retail store to sell beer and wine (no other spirituous liquors), only in the original unbroken package, to be taken away from the premises of the retailer and consumed off the premises. A retailer with off-sale privileges may deliver spirituous liquor off of the licensed premises in connection with a retail sale. Payment must be made no later than the time of delivery. Series 10 (beer and wine store) licensees and applicants may apply for unlimited sampling privileges by completing the Sampling Privileges form. Internet sale of liquor is not permitted in the state of Arizona. Liquor must be delivered to an Arizona liquor-licensed wholesaler, then an Arizona liquor-licensed retailer prior to delivery to the consumer.

Hotel/Motel Application Kit - Series 11

This non-transferable, on-sale retail privileges liquor license allows the holder of a hotel/motel license to sell and serve all types of spirituous liquor solely for consumption on the premises of a hotel or motel that has a restaurant where food is served on the premises. The restaurant on the licensed premises must derive at least forty percent (40%) of its gross revenue from the sale of food. The holder of this license may sell spirituous liquor in sealed containers in individual portions to its registered guests at any time by means of a minibar located in the guest rooms of registered guests. The registered guest must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age. Access to the minibar is provided by a key or magnetic card device and may not be furnished to a guest between the hours of 2:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m.

Restaurant Application Kit - Series 12

This non-transferable, on-sale retail privileges liquor license allows the holder of a restaurant license to sell and serve all types of spirituous liquor solely for consumption on the premises of an establishment which derives at least forty percent (40%) of its gross revenue from the sale of food. Failure to meet the 40% food requirement may result in revocation of the license.

In-state Domestic Farm Winery Application Kit - Series 13

An In-state Domestic Farm Winery is a winery located in Arizona that produces at least 200 gallons but not more than 40,000 gallons of wine annually.

This non-transferable, In-state Domestic Farm Winery liquor license has on- and off-sale retail privileges and allows the holder to sell and deliver wine produced on the premises to businesses licensed to sell wine in and out-of-state, and to serve wine produced on the premises for on and off-sale consumption and for the purpose of sampling. A in-state domestic farm winery that produces not more than 20,000 gallons of wine in a calendar year may make sales of wine produced on premises to consumers who order by telephone, mail, fax, catalogue or internet per A.R.S. §4-205.04(C)(9)(a)-(g). These orders must be sent to an Arizona-licensed wholesaler, then to an Arizona-licensed retailer who will arrange delivery to the consumer. Other than this exception, Internet sale of liquor is not permitted in the state of Arizona. A.R.S. §4-205.04(D)

Private Club Application Kit - Series 14

This non-transferable, on-sale retail privileges liquor license allows the holder of a club license to sell and serve all types of spirituous liquor for consumption only on the premises owned, leased or occupied by the club, and only to bona fide members of the club and their bona fide guests. A "club" is defined in the statutes as including veterans and fraternal organizations and their building associations, golf, social and airline clubs.

Special Event Permit Application Kit - Series 15

This temporary, non-transferable, on-sale retail privileges liquor license allows a charitable, civic, fraternal, political or religious organization to sell and serve all types of spirituous liquor for consumption only on the premises where the spirituous liquor is sold, and only for the period authorized on the license. Off-sale privileges apply only to special events holding auctions. The applicant for a special event license must request a special event application from the Department and file the application with the governing body of the city or town, or Board of Supervisors of an unincorporated area of a county, where the special event is to take place, for approval or disapproval. If the application is approved by the local authority, and the event meets the requirements for granting the license, the director will issue a special event license to the qualifying organization. Qualifying organizations will be granted a special event license for no more than ten (10) days in a calendar year. Events must be held on consecutive days and at the same location or additional licenses will be required. The license is automatically terminated upon closing of the last day of the event or the expiration of the license, whichever occurs first. The qualified organization must receive at least twenty-five percent (25%) of the gross revenues of the special events.

Wine Festival/Wine Fair Application Kit - Series 16

This temporary, non-transferable, on & off-sale retail privileges licenses allow the holder to offer the sale of wine at two different types of events:

  1. A Wine festival license allows a licensed domestic farm winery to serve samples of its wine products (no other spirituous liquors) on the wine festival premises, the sale of such products for consumption on the wine festival premises, and the sale of such products in original containers for consumption off the wine festival premises. The license is subject to the approval of the governing body of a city or town, or the Board of Supervisors of an unincorporated area of a county, where the wine festival is to take place. The Department may issue up to twenty five (25) wine festival licenses for each calendar year for each licensed domestic farm winery, for up to a cumulative total of seventy five (75) calendar days per winery.
  2. A Wine fair license allows a licensed domestic farm winery to serve samples of its wine products (no other spirituous liquors) at a sanctioned county or state fair, the sale of such products for consumption on the fair premises and the sale of such products in original containers for consumption off the fair premises. Wine fair license: The license is subject to the permission of the fair organizers.
Direct Shipment Application Kit - Series 17

This non-transferable, non-renewable liquor license allows an out-of-state distiller, vintner, brewer, rectifier, blender or other producer of any type of spirituous liquor to ship to a licensed Arizona Wholesaler and through a licensed Arizona retailer, with all applicable taxes applied, before the products are delivered to a consumer. A Direct Shipment License is valid for three years. A resident of this state who is 21 years old or older may order spirituous liquor for their personal use from a Direct Shipment Licensee in person, via telephone, mail, catalog or on the Internet as long as all such shipments are made to and through an Arizona licensed wholesaler and retailer with appropriate licensure to accommodate the transactions.