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LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS AND REQUIREMENTS 
A.R.S. §§ 4-201, 4-202 

 
DEPARTMENT OF LIQUOR WILL NOT ACCEPT AND PROCESS INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS. 

PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT AN APPLICATION DOES NOT GUARANTEE THE ISSUANCE OF A LIQUOR LICENSE. 
 

CITY, TOWN OR COUNTY MAY REQUIRE ADDITIONAL LICENSES OR PERMITS FOR YOUR BUSINESS.  
PLEASE VERIFY LOCAL REQUIREMENTS PRIOR TO FILING AN APPLICATION WITH THE STATE. 

 
Please have the Agent available for contact during the application process.  
The average time for processing the application is 75 to 105 days.  Expect processing delays if: 

 Public and/or Department Protest. 
 Local Governing Body recommends Disapproval.  
 Local Governing Body requests an extension on time to submit their Recommendation. 

 
 
APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS 
Required Forms and Check List: 

 
___ Completed Application for Liquor License (complete in black ink) Refer to Section 1 and Section 2 of the 

Application for instructions on which sections to complete, based on the Type of License you are 
applying for and the Type of Ownership you have. 

 
___ Questionnaire (see Types of Ownerships below for required person(s) who need to complete this form) 

The Questionnaire should be completed entirely.  Attach a signed statement for all questions answered 
YES on page 2 of the Questionnaire.  Please note: substantive changes to the Questionnaire will not be 
accepted after the Application for Liquor License has been accepted.  

 
___ Arizona Statement of Citizenship or Alien Status for State Public Benefits (this is to be completed by the 

Agent or Individual Owner only) 
 

___ Fingerprint Card (for person(s) being disclosed with a Questionnaire) There is a $22.00 fee for each card 
submitted (one per person). 

 
___ Records Required for Audit Form (for Restaurant Series 12 and Hotel/Motel Series 11 Liquor Licenses only) 
 
___ Restaurant Operation Plan Form (for Restaurant Series 12 and Hotel/Motel Series 11 Liquor Licenses only) 

Attach a copy of the business menu with prices. 
 
___ A valid Certificate of Completion for the Basic /Management Title 4 (Arizona liquor law) Training (issued 

within the past three (3) years) The Agent or Owner actively involved in the day-to-day operations of the 
business and all Managers that are disclosed to the Department are required to submit a valid 
Certificate of Completion for the Basic /Management Title 4 (Arizona liquor law) Training.  This should be 
submitted within 60 days from the time the Application for Liquor License was accepted by the 
Department of Liquor. 

 
 
 
 

Arizona Department of Liquor Licenses and Control 
800 W Washington 5th Floor 

Phoenix, AZ  85007-2934 
www.azliquor.gov 

(602) 542-5141  
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ISSUANCE OF LIQUOR LICENSE 
Before the Issuance of Liquor License is granted, the following must be completed, received and approved: 

 Local Governing Body (city, town, county) recommendation for approval. The Department of Liquor 
must wait fifteen (15) days from the date of the recommendation before reviewing the Application for 
Issuance. A.R.S §4-201(E). 

 Background clearance 
 Site Inspection (for Restaurant Series 12 and Hotel/Motel Series 11 Liquor Licenses only) 
 Copy of a valid Certificate of Completion for the Basic/Management Title 4 (Arizona liquor law) Training, 

if not received at the time of application. 
Final issuance fees are required at the time of issuance (see fee chart).  

 
INTERIM PERMIT 
If you are applying for an Interim Permit, there must be a current (not expired) same series type of Liquor 
License at the business location. Complete Section 5 of the Application for Liquor License. This section needs to 
be signed by either the Agent or Owner of the current Liquor License and notarized. Attach the current (not 
expired) Liquor License of the current business (current Licensee at location) to the Application for Liquor 
License.  Interim Permit fee is $100.00. 
 
PERSON-TO-PERSON TRANSFER   
This only applies to Bar (Series 6), Beer and Wine Bar (Series7) and Liquor Store (Series 9) Liquor Licenses.   
Complete Section 12 of the Application for Liquor License. (This section is to be completed, signed and 
notarized by the Owner(s) as noted on the original Liquor License.) Attach a copy of the Bill of Sale of 
ownership. Attach a copy of the Liquor License purchased. Person-to- Person Transfer Application fee is $100.00. 
 
LOCATION TRANSFER 
This only applies to Bar (Series 6), Beer and Wine Bar (Series7) and Liquor Store (Series 9) Liquor Licenses. 
Complete Section 11 of the Application for Liquor License.  Location Transfer Application fee is $100.00. 
 
ARIZONA STATE LIQUOR STATUTES AND/OR RULES 
It is required that all applicants be familiar with current Title 4 (Arizona liquor law) and Arizona Administrative 
Code Title 19 (Arizona liquor rules). 
 
AGENT  
A person who is designated by the Applicant or Licensee to receive communications from the Department and 
to file documents and sign documents for filing with the Department on behalf of the Applicant or Licensee. 
The Agent is required to be a U.S. Citizen and Arizona Resident. 
 
MANAGER 
The Manager is required to be a U.S Citizen and Arizona Resident. If the Manager is born outside of the United 
States, proof of citizenship must be attached to the Questionnaire. All managers actively involved in the day-to-
day operations of the business are required to complete and submit a Questionnaire, Fingerprint Card and 
copy of Certificate of Completion for Basic and Management Title 4 Training (issued within the past three (3) 
years). Question 21 of the Manager’s Questionnaire needs to be completed by an Owner or the Agent listed 
on the Application for Liquor License. 
 
TYPE OF OWNERSHIPS AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTS TO SUBMIT: 
 
INDIVIDUAL   
The person applying must be a U.S. Citizen or Legal Resident Alien and a bona fide Arizona Resident. The forms 
required are Questionnaire, Arizona Statement of Citizenship or Alien Status for State Public Benefits form, front 
and back copy of document showing proof of citizenship (current signed U.S. Passport, Birth Certificate or 
current Arizona Drivers License), and Fingerprint Card. Complete Section 6 of the Application for Liquor License. 
 
CORPORATION 
A Corporation must be qualified to Do Business in Arizona and be in Good Standing with the Arizona 
Corporation Commission. At least three Officers and all Stockholders owning 10% or more of the Corporation 
must be disclosed. Each person disclosed is required to submit a completed Questionnaire and Fingerprint 
Card. A copy of the Original Articles of Organization, date stamped by the Arizona Corporation Commission, 
must be submitted if the Corporation is in a pending status at the time the Application is submitted. Complete 
Section 6 of the Application for Liquor License. 
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PARTNERSHIP 
All General Partners are required to be a U.S. Citizen or Legal Resident Alien and a bona fide Arizona Resident.  
Limited Partners are NOT required to be a U.S Citizen or Legal Resident Alien and a bona fide Arizona Resident.  
Each Partner is required to submit a completed Questionnaire and Fingerprint Card. Complete Section 6 of the 
Application for Liquor License. Partnerships can consist of Individuals, Corporations, Trusts or Limited Liability 
Companies (LLC). 

 If a Corporation is a General Partner, it must meet the requirements for a General Partner by filing with 
the Arizona Corporation Commission to Do Business in Arizona.  It must disclose the Officers and any 
Stockholders owning 10% or more of the Corporation. Each person disclosed is required to submit a 
completed Questionnaire and Fingerprint Card. 

 If a LLC is a General Partner, it must meet the requirements for a General Partner by filing with the 
Arizona Corporation Commission to Do Business in Arizona.  It must disclose all Managing Members 
regardless of percentage (%) owned, and Members owning 10% or more of the LLC. Each person 
disclosed is required to submit a completed Questionnaire and Fingerprint Card. 

 If a Trust is a Partner, the Trustee of the Trust is required to submit a completed Questionnaire and 
Fingerprint Card. 

 
LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY 
A Limited Liability Company (LLC) must be qualified to Do Business in Arizona and be in Good Standing with the 
Arizona Corporation Commission.  All Managing Members regardless of percentage (%) owned, and Members 
owning 10% or more must be disclosed. Each person disclosed is required to submit a completed Questionnaire 
and Fingerprint Card.  A copy of the Original Articles of Organization and any Amendments to the Articles since 
the date of filing must be submitted. The copy must be date stamped by the Arizona Corporation Commission if 
the LLC is in a pending status at the time the Application is submitted. A copy of the signed Operating 
Agreement for the LLC is required if there is more than one Member in the LLC. Each person disclosed is 
required to submit a completed Questionnaire and Fingerprint Card. Complete Section 7 of the Application for 
Liquor License. 
 
JOINT TENANT WITH RIGHTS OF SURVIVORSHIP (J.T.W.R.O.S.) 
Joint Tenant with Rights of Survivorship means that a number of Applicants can own 100% equal shares. 
Qualifications are the same as for Individual ownership (must be a U.S. Citizen or Legal Resident Alien and a 
bona fide Arizona Resident). All Applicants are required to submit a completed Questionnaire and Fingerprint 
Card. Complete Section 6 of the Application for Liquor License. 
 
TRUST 
A copy of the Trust must be submitted with the Application. A Trustee is normally appointed to represent the 
Trust.  If there are multiple Trustees, at least one (1) Trustee is required to submit a completed Questionnaire and 
Fingerprint Card.  Trustees must be 21 years of age. The Trustee must be a U.S. Citizen or Legal Resident Alien 
and a bona fide Arizona Resident. Complete Section 6 of the Application for Liquor License. 
 
CLUB 
Private Clubs (American Legion, VFW, Elks, etc.) are required to submit a copy of the Club Charter, and a 
completed Questionnaire and Fingerprint Card from four (4) members (officer).  Qualifications are the same as 
a Corporation.  Complete Section 6 of the Application for Liquor License. 
 
TRIBE 
Indian Tribes are required to submit a completed Questionnaire and Fingerprint Card from at least three (3) 
officers.  Complete Section 6 of the Application for Liquor License. 
 
GOVERNMENT 
Government licenses are for Cities and County organizations. Officers are not required to submit a 
Questionnaire and Fingerprint Card. The Agent and/or designee on the Liquor License is required to submit a 
completed Questionnaire and Fingerprint Card.  Complete Section 10 of the Application for Liquor License (see 
A.R.S. §4-205.03). 
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ADDITIONAL INSTRUCTIONS: 
 
PROBATE/WILL ASSIGNMENT/DIVORCE DECREE 
Assignees are required to submit a completed Questionnaire and Fingerprint Card. Attach a certified copy of 
the Will, Probate distribution instrument, Death Certificate, or Divorce Decree that specifically distributes the 
Liquor License to the Assignee on the Application.  Complete Section 9 of the Application for Liquor License. 
 
HOW TO MEASURE THE DISTANCE TO THE NEAREST SCHOOL AND CHURCH: 
The licensed location may not be within 300 feet of a school or church, with exception to Liquor License Series: 

 Restaurant (12),  
 Special Event (15),  
 Hotel/Motel with restaurant (11),  
 Government (5), and  
 the fenced playing area of a golf course (various).  

300 feet is measured using a straight line from:  
a)  the closest structural wall of a school or church and the closest structural wall of the liquor-licensed 

business; OR 
b)  the closest structural wall of liquor-licensed business to the closest boundary of the outdoor recreational 

area; AND 
c)  parking lots are not considered part of the liquor-licensed property nor part of the school or church 

property.  
 
FINGERPRINTS 
Fingerprints can be taken by any law enforcement agency or bona fide private fingerprinting service. The 
Department of Liquor and FBI-approved fingerprint (blue lined) cards are accepted. A photo ID will be required 
for fingerprint services. On-site fingerprinting is offered at the Department of Liquor. When using the 
fingerprinting services with the Department of Liquor, the following is required at time of fingerprinting: 

 A photo ID 
 Completed Questionnaire 
 Liquor License number (if a new Application for Liquor License is being submitted, fingerprinting will not 

be done unless the Application for Liquor License can be processed. 
 
 
FINGERPRINT NOTIFICATION AND DISCLOSURE: Your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI. If you 
have a criminal history record, the officials making a determination of your suitability for the liquor license must provide you the 
opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information in the record. You should be afforded a reasonable amount 
of time to correct or complete the record (or decline to do so) before officials deny you the Liquor License based on information in 
the criminal history record. The procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or updating of your FBI criminal history record are 
set forth in Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 16.30 through 16.34.  Information on how to review and challenge 
your FBI criminal history record can be found at www.fbi.gov under Criminal History Summary Checks or by calling (304) 625-3878. 
To obtain a copy of your Arizona criminal history in order to review/update/correct the record, you can contact the Arizona 
Department of Public Safety Criminal History Records Unit at (602) 223-2222 to obtain a fingerprint card and a Review and 
Challenge packet. Information on the review and challenge process can be found on the DPS website (www.dps.gov). 
 
A.R.S. § 41-1030.  Invalidity of rules not made according to this chapter; prohibited agency action; prohibited acts by state    

employees; enforcement; notice 
B.  An agency shall not base a licensing decision in whole or in part on a licensing requirement or condition that is not specifically 
authorized by statute, rule or state tribal gaming compact. A general grant of authority in statute does not constitute a basis for 
imposing a licensing requirement or condition unless a rule is made pursuant to that general grant of authority that specifically 
authorizes the requirement or condition.  
D.  This section may be enforced in a private civil action and relief may be awarded against the state. The court may award 
reasonable attorney fees, damages and all fees associated with the license application to a party that prevails in an action 
against the state for a violation of this section. 
E.  A state employee may not intentionally or knowingly violate this section. A violation of this Section is cause for disciplinary action 
or dismissal pursuant to the agency's adopted personnel policy. 
F.  This section does not abrogate the immunity provided by Section 12-820.01 or 12-820.02. 
 
 
 
 
 


