2015 Arizona Liquor License Lottery
The 2015 liquor license lottery entry period is Monday, May 11, 2015 through Friday, June 5, 2015. We hope you agree that the entry process for the lottery has been greatly improved this year. Simply complete the Entry Form for the 2015 Liquor License Lottery and submit it to the Department of Liquor with a non-refundable $100 entry fee. That's it!
IMPORTANT NOTICE: The deadline for all completed applications (which include a physical address for your liquor licensed business, fingerprints, questionnaires, manager's agreements) to be received by the Department of Liquor is Monday, May 28, 2018.
A non-disclosed location is indicated on the Entry Form by leaving the "location address" section on page 1 of the Entry Form blank. A disclosed location is indicated on the Entry Form by completing the "location address" section.
Submit only the first two (2) pages of the Entry Form, keep the other pages for reference - no application, fingerprint card or questionnaires are required unless your name is selected in the Monday, June 22, 2015, Random Selection Drawing.
If after reading the Entry Form for the 2015 Liquor License Lottery you still have questions, please contact Lee Hill, . You'll receive a response to your question within two (2) business days.2015 Lottery Press Release
|2015 Available Licenses|
|County||Series 6: Bar||Series 7: Beer & Wine Bar||Series 9: Liquor Store|
|Fair Market Value||$ 71,750||$ 13,700||$226,500|
|Fair Market Value||$ 27,650||$ 10,500||$ 71,500|
|Fair Market Value||$ 57,900||N/A||N/A|
Liquor License Lottery Statute and Rule:
|2015 Liquor License Lottery Timeline|
|Activity||Deadline||Lottery Entry Period||Monday, May 11 through Friday, June 5, 2015|
|Date of Random Selection Drawing||Monday, June 22, 2015 @ 10 a.m.|
|Entrants Selected To Apply for Licenses are Posted on Website||Tuesday, June 23, 2015|
|Non-refundable 50% Deposit Due||3:00 p.m., Monday, October 5, 2015|
|Non-refundable Final Fees Due For Selected Applicants Who Submitted Entry Forms With a Pre-determined Business Location||105 days after application processed|
|Non-refundable Final Fees Due For Selected Applicants Who Submitted Entry Forms Without a Pre-determined Business Location||Monday, April 4, 2016|
|Deadline To Submit Completed Application With Business Location||Monday, May 28, 2018|
Notes regarding the local government where your business will be located:
Liquor License Lottery History
Of the 17 series of liquor licenses available in Arizona, only these three are issued in limited quantities by county; the bar license (series 6), the beer and wine bar license (series 7), and the liquor store license (series 9). These three licenses are called "quota" licenses.When our state's population boomed in the 90s, the Arizona's liquor industry proposed legislation that would increase the number of the three most sought-after liquor licenses. In 2005 more licenses were made available by holding a lottery.
2015 marks the eighth liquor license lottery held in Arizona. Quota licenses are issued by county when the population increases by 10,000. Of the 15 Arizona counties, Maricopa, Pima and Yuma experienced population growth of more than 10,000. The number of lottery licenses offered is determined by the population increase since 2010 minus the number of quota licenses issued in that county since 2010.
Before each lottery is conducted, two independent auditors determine the Fair Market Value of each license. Fair market values have ranged from a low of $5,233 for a beer and wine bar license in Gila County to a high of $235,800 for a liquor store license in Maricopa County.
Using one Entry Form, a lottery entrant may identify the street address where the liquor-licensed business will operate or, if the licensed business location is not yet established, the entrant may leave that information unanswered on the Entry Form.
When the number of entrants exceed the number of quota licenses offered, a Random Selection Drawing is held to determine the entrants will continue with the application process. If entrants selected in the random selectiondrawing elect not to continue with the application process, the license will be offered to the "alternate" identified in the drawing.
The cost to submit an Entry Form for the lottery is $100 and is non-refundable. When an entrant is selected to apply for a license, state costs include a fifty percent (50%) deposit, the remainder of the balance prior to issuance of the license. Also, prior to the license being issued, fingerprint fees, issuance fees, and any fees charged by the local government in the city or town where the business will operate. Non-payment state fees will result in automatic disqualification. When an entrant is disqualified, an alternate entrant, if selected, is notified.
When Liquor lottery Entrants are selected to apply for a liquor license, the applicant must meet state liquor license requirements and licensing requirements and requirements established by the city, town or county where they will operate their business.
A history of lottery results can be reviewed in the Department of Liquor Annual Report.