skip navigation Arizona's Official Website Department of Liquor Licenses and Control
Agency Name Arizona's Official Web Site

Beer and Wine Store Application Kit (Series 10)

Each application for a new liquor license includes The Arizona Statement of Citizenship and Alien Status For State Public Benefits Form (AKA Aliens Status Form). Beginning April 1, 2009, this Federal- and State-required form must be completed by;

  1. statutory agents;
  2. individual owners including Joint Tenants With Right of Survivorship (JTWROS); and
  3. each partner (who is a person) in a partnership including general and limited partners. This does not include corporations which are partners.
  4. To help you complete the form are Attachments A & B and frequently asked questions (Alien Status Form FAQs) below.

This non-transferable, off-sale retail privileges liquor license allows a retail store to sell beer and wine (no other spirituous liquors), only in the original unbroken package, to be taken away from the premises of the retailer and consumed off the premises. A retailer with off-sale privileges may deliver spirituous liquor off of the licensed premises in connection with a retail sale. Payment must be made no later than the time of delivery.

The beer and wine store (series 10) license may fill and sell "growlers". Reference A.R.S. § 4-244(32).

Series 10 (beer and wine store) license applicants may apply for unlimited sampling privileges by completing the Sampling Privileges form. The Sampling Privileges form will require approval from local governing bodies; therefore the 105 day issuance timeframe will apply. Upon approval of Sampling Privileges, a new license with a "series 10S" designation will be issued to the licensee for display in a conspicuous, public area. The "series 10S" sampling privileges are not transferrable. Upon owner or location transfer of a series 10 (beer and wine store) license, all sampling privileges cease and the new owner of the series 10 (beer and wine store) license must apply for sampling privileges. "Series 10S" (beer and wine store with sampling privileges) licensees are required to comply with sampling regulations detailed in A.R.S.§4-206.01(J), 1 - 8. All other sampling may be conducted upon approval of a DLLC Sampling Request form, and compliance with A.R.S.§4-243(B) and R19-1-228 is required. Reference A.R.S.§4-206.01(J)

ADDITIONAL RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES: The retailer must complete a state-approved Record of Delivery form for each spirituous liquor retail delivery. Applicants, licensees, and managers must take a Title 4 training course (liquor handling, laws and regulations) prior to approval. A pregnancy warning sign for pregnant women consuming spirituous liquor must be posted within twenty (20) feet of the cash register or at point of display. An Employee Log must be kept by the licensee of all persons employed at the premises including each employee's name, date and place of birth, address and responsibilities.

ARIZONA STATUTES AND REGULATIONS: A.R.S. §4-201, 4-202, 4-203, 4-206.01, 4-209(B)(10), 4-209(D)(10), 4-222, 4-261; Rule R19-1-221; R19-1-235.

Average Approval Time: Sixty-five (65) to one-hundred five (105) days.
Period of Issuance: One (1) year with option to renew.
Application Fees:
Non-refundable application fee: $100.00
Fingerprint fee per card: $22.00 Fingerprint Services
Interim Permit fee: $100.00
Fees Due Upon Approval:
Final fees (full year): $1,550.00
Final fees (half year): $1,525.00
Annual renewal fee (includes surcharge): $120.00